Wiki-Worthy: Darren Arbet

14 03 2007

In this semi-regular series, we shall examine someone affiliated with the Arena Football League who meets Wikipedia’s strict standards for inclusion, and then attempt to either elaborate on the entry or make a joke about their alma mater or arrest record. Today, San Jose SaberCats Head Coach Darren Arbet.

Darren ArbetDarren Arbet: Leader, Fighter, Lover. None of those descriptions grace his painfully sparse Wikipedia page, which includes the following tidbits, only one of which is interesting:

  • 1. He is the head coach of the San Jose SaberCats.
  • 2. He attended Edison High School in Stockton, CA.
  • 3. While in high school, he played football and track & field.
  • 4. His nephew Kevin Arbet is an NFL dropout.
  • 5. In 2002, he became the first African-American head coach to win a professional football championship when the SaberCats won Arena Bowl XVI.

Woah, hang on a minute. The first? Then what the hell was everyone so excited about in Super Bowl XLI? Oh, right – it’s the Super Bowl. However, it must be gratifying to know that you were the first head coach to win a “professional” (like that loop hole?) football championship, break the color barrier, and forever be a footnote on someone else’s Wikipedia page.

When his life story is made into a movie (for TV?), we project that he’ll be played by none other than 24‘s Wayne Palmer.

Wayne Palmer

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 05 2010
Coach Ben Parks,Jr.

Coach Arbet is a Fantastic human-being.I beleive there should be a movie made about him.
Coach Ben Parks,Jr
Sequoia high school

26 09 2013
Gwendolyn Ranee Elders

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KEVIN MITCHELL ARBET. IF YOU SEE JERRY, TELL HIM THAT I MISS HIM. HE CALL ME AT 209-408-3311 LOVE YOU ALL. I AM SO GLAD I MET MISS CLENSO ARBET. SHE IS VERY SWEET AND CARING. THANK YOU FOR BEING SO KIND TO ME AND MY CHILDREN. I KNOW THEY MISS YOU ALSO. IT IS JUST A SHOUT OUT TO THE FAMILY AND THE SAN JOSE SABERCATS.

GWENDOLYN RANEE ELDERS

26 09 2013
Gwendolyn Ranee Elders

It would be great to see a movie with starring Darren Arbet. It would be like a Brian Song movie. You start out not knowing what is going to be the ending results and find yourself on time. That would be great.

Gwendolyn Ranee Elders

11 01 2013
Gwendolyn Ranee Elders

Hello Darren, hope all is well. Trying to reach my husband Kevin Mitchell Arbet, do that we can start folling the game again. I am well and no longer sick. Just finished my Associates in Business Administration. Working on my Bachelors in Business Administration. Would like to share this portion of my educational process with my common law husband, Kevin Mitchell Arbet. Let him know i love him and miss him much. I am at my mothers home, and he could call me at 209-577-2650, so that we can continue our lives. I love you all and miss you much. I hope that your mother is during well also and blessed.Thank you, Gwendolyn Ranee Elders. HAPPY NEW YEAR .

30 05 2013
Gwendolyn Elders

Public apologies the information above is no longer valid. Thank you. Gwendolyn Elders

7 08 2014
Gwendolyn Elders

I apologized for my post but found out that I was sold to Kevin arbet by Jerry Brown of Stockton. California. His alias name governor. Not the political guy but just a person name this. I was sold for $500.00 not knowing. I am not a prostitute. I deserve an apology. Me and my sons ha r suffered tremendously. I am getting harrased in the public eye when me and my kids have been battered and told that I was going to get it. As of now I am getting harassed daily. I am really sadden, hurt and discusted. These families are hurting me every chance they get. This is not a game. I thought I was meeting a cool dude and this has turned into a nightmare with the death of my dad. Please just an apology. The joke is over.

Leave a Reply

